Posted by: Liz | January 1, 2009

Eat to Run, Run to Eat

With the new year and all of the talk of resolutions, I thought I’d make a quick post focused on eating. I love food and equally love eating and drinking. From what I’ve read, running burns more energy than almost any other workout. To run at my best, I need to eat enough to be well fueled. On the other side of that coin, when I want to indulge a bit–I just have to make time to sneak in a little extra run time. This eat to run/run to eat relationship works well for me!

That said, anyone who has eaten with me lately might laugh at my use of word ‘indulge’. Along with taking on running as a hobby, I have also focused on the basics of food nutrition and eating healthy foods. Honestly, I didn’t lose a pound from exercising until my exercise boot camp instructor skillfully guided my eating decisions.

A couple good resources for nutrition information are:

Nancy Clark’s Sports Nutrition Guidebook, 4th editionNancy Clark's Sports Nutrition Guidebook
Hal Higdon and other running books quote this guidebook extensively, so I decided to check out the source. The first section of this book is a great guide to a healthy diet–regardless of your participation in sports. Get the 4th edition! Earlier editions do not refer to vegetarian options as frequently.

Runner’s World – Nutrition and Weight Loss
The Runner’s World web site has fun, readable and informative articles to keep you motivated. I especially like the short topical ‘Fast Nutrition’ videos usually featuring nutritionist Lesli Bonci. Check them out!

Some healthy eating blogs:

Running with Food: Adventures in Cooking and Healthy Living

Hungry Girl: Tips & Tricks…for Hungry Chicks

Responses

  1. I am truly delighted to glance at this weblog posts which contains plenty of
    valuable facts, thanks for providing such statistics.


Leave a Reply

Categories

